Prior DWI Convictions in Round Rock
Criminal Penalties for 2nd, 3rd and 4th DWI
Texas has some of the toughest laws against drunk driving in the country,
and law enforcement agencies from the local police to the highway patrol
will take every available measure to pursue a conviction if there is any
evidence against you. Driving While Intoxicated (DWI) is a Class B misdemeanor
under state law, with a minimum penalty of 72 hours in jail, a maximum
of 180 days in jail and $2,000 in fines for a first conviction. This punishment
is designed to convince you never to commit the crime again.
If you have been arrested for a suspected 2nd, 3rd, or 4th
DWI or DUI, the penalty you face is significantly greater than on the first arrest.
Section 49.09 of the Texas Penal Code, "Enhanced Offenses and Penalties,"
describes a graduated series of increases in the sentencing for drunk
driving offenders, according to the number of prior convictions on the
defendant's record. Minimum jail time increases to 30 days for a 2nd
offense, which is a Class A misdemeanor with a $4,000 fine. A 3rd offense
is a felony of the third degree, which could send you to state prison
for a term between 2 and 10 years and cost you up to $10,000 in fines.
Any repeat DWI offender is also responsible for surcharges under the State
Driver Responsibility Program up to a total of $4,500. When you face multiple
DWI charges, you need the support of a seasoned Round Rock criminal defense
lawyer to help you fight the case.
Criminal Defense Attorney Serving Williamson County
At the Law Office of Ryan H. Deck, we answer to nobody but our clients,
and when you come to us with a multiple DWI case, we will explore your
situation to discover the most effective strategy for defending you from
a conviction. We know what a major impact a guilty verdict would have
on you and your family, and we won't fail you in our dedication to
results. There are several ways to defeat drunk driving charges, and Ryan
will not hesitate to go to trial if that is the best solution for the case.
Contact a Round Rock criminal defense lawyer to learn more about what you can do to protect yourself from the penalties
of a 2nd, 3rd or 4th DWI conviction.