Criminal Defense

Defending clients for over a decade

Round Rock Underage DWI Lawyer

Defending Minors in Williamson County

Being charged with driving while intoxicated (DWI) is a serious matter, but it is even more so for those who are under the legal drinking age. In Texas, the legal drinking age is 21, and anyone under this age who is found to be operating a motor vehicle with any amount of alcohol in their system can be charged with an underage DWI. If you or your child has been charged with an underage DWI, it is important to take the matter seriously and seek legal representation from an experienced Round Rock underage DWI attorney.

At The Law Offices of Ryan H. Deck, our legal team is committed to providing the aggressive and effective representation you need. We understand the serious nature of these charges and the potential consequences you face. Our firm is available to answer your questions and address your concerns throughout the legal process. We will fight to protect your rights and work to secure the best possible outcome in your case.

Call our office today at (512) 337-6285 or contact us online to schedule a free consultation with our Round Rock underage DWI lawyer.

What Is the Legal Limit for Underage DWI in Texas?

For those who are 21 and older, the legal limit for DWI in Texas is a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of 0.08%. However, for those who are under the legal drinking age, the legal limit is much lower. In fact, it is zero tolerance. This means that if a minor has any detectable amount of alcohol in their system, they can be charged with an underage DWI.

It is important to note that, in addition to alcohol, a minor can also be charged with an underage DWI if they have any detectable amount of drugs in their system. This includes both illegal drugs and prescription medications. If a minor is found to have any amount of drugs or alcohol in their system, they can be arrested and charged with an underage DWI.

What Are the Penalties for Underage DWI in Texas?

Underage DWI is a serious criminal offense in Texas. If convicted, a minor will face a range of criminal penalties, as well as administrative penalties from the Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS).

The criminal penalties for an underage DWI conviction in Texas include:

  • First offense: Up to 180 days in jail, a fine of up to $2,000, and a driver’s license suspension of up to 1 year
  • Second offense: Up to 1 year in jail, a fine of up to $4,000, and a driver’s license suspension of up to 2 years

In addition to these criminal penalties, a minor will also face administrative penalties from the DPS. These penalties include a driver’s license suspension of 60 days for a first offense and 120 days for a second offense. If the minor refuses to submit to a chemical test, they will face a driver’s license suspension of 180 days for a first offense and 2 years for a second offense.

It is important to note that these are the penalties for a standard underage DWI conviction. If the minor is found to have a BAC of 0.08% or higher, they can be charged with a standard DWI, which carries even more severe penalties.

How Can a Lawyer Help with Underage DWI Charges?

When you are facing underage DWI charges, you need a lawyer who can help you understand your legal options and guide you through the process. At The Law Offices of Ryan H. Deck, we are committed to providing the aggressive and effective representation you need. Our Round Rock underage DWI attorney will work to build a strong defense on your behalf and fight to protect your rights every step of the way.

Depending on the circumstances of your case, we may be able to help you by:

  • Challenging the legality of the traffic stop
  • Challenging the accuracy of the breath or blood test
  • Challenging the admissibility of any incriminating statements you made
  • Challenging the legality of the arrest
  • Seeking a reduction or dismissal of the charges

Our firm understands the serious nature of these charges and the potential consequences you face. We will fight to protect your rights and work to secure the best possible outcome in your case.

Get the Legal Help You Need Today

If you or your child has been charged with an underage DWI, it is important to seek legal representation as soon as possible. At The Law Offices of Ryan H. Deck, we are committed to providing the aggressive and effective representation you need. Our Round Rock underage DWI lawyer will fight to protect your rights and work to secure the best possible outcome in your case.

Call our office today at (512) 337-6285 or contact us online to schedule a free consultation with our Round Rock underage DWI lawyer.

Fearlessly Fighting for You

Some Of Our Past Results:
  • Case dismissed State of Texas v. K.H. (Assault Family Violence/3rd Degree Felony)
  • Case dismissed State of Texas v. A. B. (Theft of Property)
  • Dismissed State of Texas v. A. M. (Assault)
  • “I was very impressed with the outcome of the issue and will definitely use his office if I ever need representation again.” - M.M.
Ryan Deck Attorney & Founder
Read More

Ryan Deck grew up in Williamson County where he attended Round Rock High School. After graduation, he attended Trinity University in San Antonio, Texas. After receiving his undergraduate degree in Finance, he attended The University of Houston Law Center, graduating in 2003.

Read More

Skilled. Dedicated. Successful.

More REASONS TO CHOOOSE RYAN H. DECK:
  • Honest & Authentic Service
  • Texas Board Certified
  • Fearless Trial Lawyer
  • A Former Texas Prosecutor
  • Affordable Payment Plans
  • Flexible Appointments