Defending clients for over a decade
Round Rock Occupational License Lawyer
Helping Clients Seek An Occuaptional License In Williamson County
If you are facing difficulties obtaining an occupational license in Texas, our attorney at the Law Offices of Ryan H. Deck is here to help guide you through every step of the process. State and local laws can be complex, making it difficult to navigate this process alone. An experienced occupational license attorney such as Ryan H. Deck can help assist you in understanding the petition filing, the necessary requirements, and potential challenges that may arise.
What is an Occupational License?
When a person's driver's license has been suspended, the only way he can drive legally is to obtain an occupational license (also called an Essential Needs license). Basically, the Texas DPS determines whether a person's license is suspended. However, a judge can trump the suspension by signing a court order allowing a person to drive during certain times and on certain days. This is called an occupational license.
An occupational license allows a person to drive to and from work and other necessary places, such as the grocery store or school. In order to do an occupational license, a person needs three documents:
- Proof of SR-22 insurance
- A three-year driving record
- A letter from an employer on company letterhead.
In addition to these documents, there is also a filing fee paid to the county of approximately $240 that must be paid at the time the petition for the occupational license is filed.
Are you looking to obtain an occupational license in Williamson County? Call the Law Offices of Ryan H. Deck today at (512) 337-6285 or contact us online to schedule a free consultation with our occupational license attorney in Round Rock.
Petition FOr Occupational License
A person whose driver's license has been suspended can petition the court to obtain an occupational license. The petition must contain certain information, including the days and times you need to drive, the reason for those specific times, the places you need to drive, why you need to drive to those locations and the counties that you will be driving in.
After the court grants your occupational license, you may use the signed court order as your license for 30 days. During that time, you must follow specific instructions so that the DPS will issue the actual occupational license. Once you have received your occupational license from the DPS, you may use it as your driver's license until your suspension is over and your driver's license has been reinstated.
What are the Penalties for Violating Occupational License Conditions?
If you fail to adhere to the conditions of your occupational license, it is considered a violation of a court order. Violation of an Occupational License is a Class B misdemeanor, with a range of punishment of up to a $2,000 fine and up to 180 days in the county jail.
Under certain circumstances, the court may also require you to install an ignition interlock device on your vehicle. This device prevents you from starting your car until you blow into it, and it detects no alcohol on your breath. It also logs the time and date of the test and records this information for review by your probation officer. You will be required to pay for the device, its installation, and removal.
What is a Hard Suspension?
Sometimes a person with a suspended license will not be allowed to drive for a specified period of time even if they have been issued an occupational license. During these periods, the person simply cannot, under any circumstances, operate a vehicle.
These are called "hard suspensions" and include:
- If a driver's license has been suspended for any alcohol-related or drug-related contact within 5 years (e.g. breath test failure/refusal), the defendant cannot get an occupational license for 90 days after date of suspension
- If a driver's license has been suspended as a result of a DWI conviction within 5 years, the defendant will receive 180 days of hard suspension
- If a driver's license has been suspended as a result of a 2nd or more DWI convictions within 5 years, the defendant will be given a 1 year hard suspension.
If you have a commercial driver's license (CDL) and are convicted of DWI and lose your CDL, you will not be eligible to petition the court for an occupational license. Our firm provides aggressive and committed representation in DWI cases and can help you pursue an occupational license if your driving privileges have been suspended. We are well-versed in the procedures that must be followed to obtain an occupational license and can assist you with all of the requirements.
Contact Our Occupational License Attorney in Round Rock Today
If your license has been suspended, find out how to obtain an occupational license by contacting a Round Rock occupational license lawyer at the Law Offices of Ryan H. Deck. We are a skilled criminal defense firm in Williamson County that can help you complete the steps required for an occupational license, prepare and submit your petition, and represent you at your hearing.
Contact the Law Offices of Ryan H. Deck today to get started with our Round Rock occupational license lawyer.
Fearlessly Fighting for YouSome Of Our Past Results:
Case dismissed State of Texas v. K.H. (Assault Family Violence/3rd Degree Felony)
Case dismissed State of Texas v. A. B. (Theft of Property)
Dismissed State of Texas v. A. M. (Assault)
“I was very impressed with the outcome of the issue and will definitely use his office if I ever need representation again.” - M.M.
Ryan Deck grew up in Williamson County where he attended Round Rock High School. After graduation, he attended Trinity University in San Antonio, Texas. After receiving his undergraduate degree in Finance, he attended The University of Houston Law Center, graduating in 2003.Read More
Skilled. Dedicated. Successful.
More REASONS TO CHOOOSE RYAN H. DECK:
Honest & Authentic Service
Texas Board Certified
Fearless Trial Lawyer
A Former Texas Prosecutor
Affordable Payment Plans